

April 12, 2018

## Joint Statement from the Student Government Association and the Faculty Senate on Revising the +/- Grading System

The Student Government Association (SGA) and the Faculty Senate at the University of Texas at San Antonio share a commitment to equitable and accessible education for all students. The current implementation of the +/- grading system has garnered concerns related to consistency and equity across the university within both groups. Given the importance of this policy to both faculty and students, we will facilitate the formation of a joint taskforce that will investigate this topic in a collaborative manner.

The charge of this committee will be to (1) gather feedback from faculty and students related to current concerns about the +/- system, (2) investigate and discuss potential solutions to remedy these concerns, especially as they relate to consistency across campus, and (3) present updates and, ultimately, findings and recommendations to each body until consensus is reached. Meetings of this body will be open.

The following guidelines will guide the formation of this committee, henceforth referred to as the Joint Plus/Minus Committee (JPMC):

**The JPMC will be established to consist of four SGA Senators and four Faculty Senators.** The President of the Student Body and the Chair of the Faculty Senate will each engage in their chosen selection/appointment process to have the committee in place no later than September 1, 2018. Each organization is committed to a selection process that capitalizes on the diversity of views that exist within each college. Representation on the committee should reflect this commitment. In the case of an absence members may send a proxy from the same college. The proxy will have voting rights. The JPMC will be co-chaired by one SGA Senator and one Faculty Senator. These chairs will be elected by the full membership of the committee.

The JPMC may seek guidance from the following groups/individuals throughout the process as needed. These individuals will serve in an advisory (non-voting) capacity:

- UTSA Provost and VPAA, and members of her team
- Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Studies
- Dean of Graduate Studies
- Provost's Council/Deans
- Members of the Chair's Council
- Graduate Council

The JPMC will meet beginning in the fall of 2018 and will present evidence-based recommendations by December 2018.

## **Brittany Garcia**

President of the Student Government Association University of Texas at San Antonio **Emily Bonner** Chair of the Faculty Senate University of Texas at San Antonio

Authors: Alex Sexton, SGA

Sponsors: Alex Sexton, Arianna Pulido, Rachel Jendrzey